Explore Books

Immortal Memories

Michael Hibbard

Prepare to awaken and see the world through the eyes of a dreamer. Immortal Memories is the first in a series of novels and short story collections set in an alternate view of our reality called The Waking Dream. The Waking Dream is our world which is inhabited by Dreamers Sleepers, Immortals and other forces that live in a mysterious realm called the Spaces Between. Our reality is created through a force known as the Weird which seeps into our world from the Spaces Between, allowing the creation of all that we see and dream. Dreamers and Immortals are able to use the Weird, via their own weirdness, to change the fabric of reality – creating a collective waking dream. Each of the seven stories in this collection is a single moment in the life of one of the Immortals. The stories in this collection all have a common tie, and will help the reader become acquainted with The Waking Dream Universe, before the release of the full length novel, Waking Dream: Devlin – the first in the three part “Transformation Series”. Some of the featured stories are: The Book of One is told from the perspective of the first immortal, One, who tries to explain that the days to follow will be a trial for all mankind, Dreamers, Sleepers and Immortals alike. It is written in such a way as to explain the hidden aspects of our reality. The Black Heart in Madness is a twist on the mysterious death of Ludwig II of Bavaria, the Fairy Tale King, who built Neuschwanstein, and how in his latter life, he was inhabited by an immortal named Deakin Droon. The Charnel House is the story of three gamers gone ghost hunter who stumble on a strange house that gives them more than they bargained for and a glimpse into the Spaces Between. The Fairy In Red is the story of a strange relationship between and immortal and a dreamer set in 1919 New Orleans. What Rough Beast is an erotica tale of evil governing evil. It explores the depths of human depravity and exposes an ancient force that has existed beyond memory. In addition to the stories, there is a sneak peak of the upcoming novel, The Waking Dream: Devlin, which gives the reader a sense of the things to come for our world. This book contains adult content and is not recommended for those under 18.

About the author:
E. Michael Hibbard has been working on the Waking Dream Universe for over 15 years. This is his first publication of short stories intended to acquaint the reader with an alternate view of reality. The impetus for the Waking Dream Universe came from over 30 years of role-playing, console and PC gaming. He has taken so long to publish because the storyline spans thousands of years, past and into the future. His first work, Immortal Memories is intended to acquaint new readers with just a glimpse of the Waking Dream. He is currently working on a full-length novel, currently in final stages of editing. Michael currently lives in Chester, Virginia.

From the author:
Greetings Dreamers! I wanted to take tell you a little bit about this particular book. Immortal Memories is a collection of short stories all set in my altered reality called the Waking Dream Universe. It will appeal to a wide range of people because it has horror, romance, apocalyptic, historical, dark fantasy, fantasy and erotic themes. I wrote it because it is a precursory to my upcoming novel, Waking Dream: Devlin, which is the first of 9 novels in a series I am writing. The stories in Immortal Memories are literally a single memory important to the immortals that inhabit this world. I've chosen to publish this first because it will acquaint the reader with key concepts and new ideas I've woven into the series. It will appeal to readers who enjoyed the Dark Tower Series by Stephen King, the Incarnations of Immortality Series by Piers Anthony, and anyone who's read a Dungeons and Dragons type novel. However, I have tried to create an original experience that will leave you wondering if anything I've presented is real -- because reality is what we make it. I hope you enjoy this first installment. Awaken your own weirdness and change your world.

Other books to explore

  • Privacy: Big Ideas, Small Books

    Garret Keizer

    American essayist and Harper’s contributing editor Garret Keizer offers a brilliant, literate look at our strip-searched, over-shared, viral-videoed e…

    Read more

  • The Unwanted Gaze: The Destruction of Privacy in America

    Jeffrey Rosen

    The Unwanted Gaze is an important book about one of the most pressing issues of our day: how changes in technology and the law have combined to demoli…

    Read more